'Harry Potter' wins best film, best director Awards

'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2' scooped the top prizes - best film and best director for David Yates - at the 2012 Empire Awards.
Gary Oldman, who played Sirius Black in the boy wizard movie series, won best actor for his role in political thriller 'Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy'.
'The Inbetweeners Movie' picked up best comedy.
Speaking before the ceremony, actor Blake Harrison, who plays hapless, slow-witted Neil Sutherland in the film, said he did not expect to take the prize.
"We're up against such brilliant films," the BBC quoted him as saying.
"It's films like Bridesmaids and Crazy, Stupid Love. I don't know why I'm here, to be honest," he said.
Daniel Radcliffe, who played Harry Potter himself, was unable to attend the ceremony but left a video message.

"I've always been quite a harsh judge of the series, but I was over the moon with this final film; I think we went out on a high note," he said.
Picking up the best director prize, Yates added, "Anyone who's ever directed a movie like this knows that it's a huge great family that helps bring these movies to fruition and makes them what they are."
Oldman's film 'Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy' went on to win best British film and best thriller.
The best actress prize went to Olivia Colman, best known for playing Sophie Chapman in 'Peep Show'.
Her award was for the hard-hitting English drama 'Tyrannosaur', in which she plays a victim of domestic abuse.
The Empire Awards are held annually, with winners decided by public vote.
Full list of winners:est film: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2est British film: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spyest actor: Gary Oldmanest actress: Olivia Colmanest Director: David Yates (Harry Potter)est male newcomer: Tom Hiddleston (Thor)est female newcomer: Felicity Jones(Like Crazy)est comedy: The Inbetweeners Movieest horror: Kill Listest thriller: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spyest sci-fi: Thorhe Art of 3D award: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicornmpire Hero: Michael Fassbendermpire Inspiration Award:Ron Howardmpire Legend:Tim Burton